‘Sturm und Drang’, Volume 1


GRAMOPHONE: Editor’s Choice


“Ian Page and The Mozartists always combine fascinating programming with thrilling music-making,
and this first excursion into the dramatic heart of Sturm und Drang is no exception.”

This is the first project in a seven-volume series exploring the ‘Sturm und Drang’ movement, which swept through all art forms between the early 1760s and 1780s. The purpose of this movement was to frighten and perturb through the use of wild and subjective emotional means of expression.

This series of ‘Sturm und Drang’ recordings incorporates iconic compositions by Mozart, Gluck and, above all, Joseph Haydn, but it also includes largely forgotten or neglected works by less familiar names. The music featured on this disc was all composed in the 1760s. It includes ballet and opera as well as symphonies, but is drawn together by the hallmarks of the remarkably visceral and dynamic style of music that we now call ‘Sturm und Drang’.

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714 – 1787)
1. Final scene from Don Juan: Larghetto – Chaconne (Allegro non troppo)

Niccolò Jommelli (1714 – 1774)
2. “Ombre che tacite qui sede” from Fetonte

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
3. “Non v’è chi mi aiuta” from La canterina

Franz Ignaz Beck (1734 – 1809)
Symphony in G minor, Op. 3, no. 3
4. I. Allegro con spirito
5. II. Andante un poco adagio
6. III. Minuetto e Trio
7. IV. Presto

Tommaso Traetta (1727 – 1779)
8. “Crudeli, ahimè, che fate?” from Sofonisba
9. “Sofonisba, che aspetti?” from Sofonisba

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 49 in F minor, ‘La Passione’
10. I. Adagio
11. II. Allegro di molto
12. III. Menuet e Trio
13. IV. Presto

Chiara Skerath (soprano)

The Mozartists

Ian Page (conductor)