1770 – A Retrospective

Ian Page’s visionary MOZART 250 series continues to build a widespread and highly enthusiastic following. The sixth year of this ground-breaking series begins with this diverse and illuminating overview of the musical year 1770, featuring dramatically charged minor-key symphonies by Vanhal and Johann Christian Bach and arias and duets by Gluck, Haydn and Mozart. The two outstanding young soloists are soprano Samantha Clarke and mezzo-soprano Ida Ränzlöv.

Vanhal Symphony in E minor (e1)
Gluck “O del mio dolce ardor” from Paride ed Elena
“Tutto qui mi sorprende… Le belle immagini” from Paride ed Elena
Haydn “Già si vede” from Le pescatrici
J. C. Bach Duet, “Guardami in volto” from Gioas, re di Giuda
Haydn “Caro Volpino amabile” (2nd version) from Lo speziale
J.C.Bach Symphony in G minor, Op. 6, no. 6
Mozart Duet, “Se viver non degg’io” (original version) from Mitridate, re di Ponto

Pre-concert talk by Richard Wigmore, 6.00pm


9 Jan 2020


7:30 pm
Wigmore Hall, London


Wigmore Hall, London